Select Page

Is a hospital stay safe?

Our mission: Ensuring safe care in your facility

“…Because life is the highest price patients pay for a serious adverse event, and that should never happen again.”

Martha Schiller

Non-safety of care, does it cost money?

The cost of prescription errors has been estimated at US$42 billion per year. This represents almost 1% of total global health spending.

What is a Care-Related Adverse Event (CRAE)?

It is an unexpected circumstance or event associated with the care that could have or has resulted in harm to the patient and which it is hoped will not happen again.

What is the likelihood of having a CRAE?

It is estimated that there is a 1 in 3 million risk of a person dying during air travel.
In comparison, the risk of a patient dying from an adverse event during care is estimated to be 1 in 300.

Industries known to have a much higher risk than health, such as aviation and nuclear energy, have a much better safety record than health care.

What kind of mistakes are we talking about?

Medication errors
The causes of prescribing errors are related to system failures and human factors, such as staff fatigue, understaffing, treatment monitoring, etc. The causes of prescribing errors are related to system failures and human factors, such as staff fatigue, understaffing, treatment monitoring, etc. The causes of prescribing errors are related to system failures and human factors.
Each of these contributing factors, alone or in combination, can cause serious harm, disability or even death to the patient concerned.
Nosocomial infections
Healthcare-associated infections (HAIs), or nosocomial infections, are identified in general harm studies, but more accurate figures can be obtained through targeted surveys. In 2017, Swissnoso conducted a one-day spot prevalence study in 96 hospitals. The total prevalence of patients with at least one HCAI in Swiss hospitals was 5.9% (compared to 6% in the last European survey).

There are four main infection sites described in the literature. In order of frequency: pneumonia, urinary tract infections, surgical site infections and bacteremia.

Infections account for about 40% of adverse surgical events. The rate of infected surgical sites has been reported to range between 2 and 20% depending on risk factors.

Infections are the cause of additional costs, particularly due to the subsequent extension of the hospital stay.

Surgical errors
Every year, some 234 million operations are carried out worldwide. The death rate is 0.4 to 0.8% and the complication rate is between 3 and 16%, which is equivalent to approximately 1 million deaths and 7 million people suffering from serious after-effects.

No health system in the world is spared from infections, anaesthesia-related complications, or surgical site or surgical site errors.

Diagnostic Errors
5% of adults are confronted with misdiagnosis
In ambulatory care services in the United States, 5% of adults face misdiagnosis. In Malaysia, a study has established the frequency of misdiagnosis at 3.6%.
Risk of falls
In particular, the risk of falling is a defined nursing diagnosis that requires the implementation of preventive actions: avoiding falls and reducing their consequences through targeted interventions, protecting patients who have already fallen from a recurrence and its consequences, promoting systematic documentation of each fall case, etc.
The latent error factors, the "Swiss cheese model"...
At the critical point in the process of care, where the visible act of error occurs, there is the individual, who may have many factors that may contribute to the occurrence of the error.

Upstream of the individual, there is the workstation, where several elements, mainly organizational, are conditions that favour error. And even further upstream, latent factors located in particular at the strategic and budgetary level determine the circumstances favouring error, as well as the flaws in the “safety barriers” downstream of the act of care, which are supposed to protect the patient from an undesirable event.

To illustrate the consequences of these faults when they “line up” in time and place, Reason proposes the “Swiss cheese model”, where latent factors, error-prone conditions and gaps in safety barriers are holes in cheeses that, when aligned, allow the harmful process of error to proceed without ever being blocked, ultimately leading to an adverse event in the patient.

Bibliographic reference :

1. James Reason: patient safety, human error, and Swiss cheese. Interview by Karolina Peltomaa and Duncan Neuhauser. – PubMed – NCBI [Internet]. [cité 24 févr 2020]. Available: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=(reason%20J%5BAuthor%5D)%20AND%20swiss%20cheese

"Swiss cheese model"
Swiss Cheese model

Référence bibliographique :
1. James Reason: patient safety, human error, and Swiss cheese. Interview by Karolina Peltomaa and Duncan Neuhauser. – PubMed – NCBI [Internet]. [cité 24 févr 2020]. Disponible sur: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=(reason%20J%5BAuthor%5D)%20AND%20swiss%20cheese

Prevention of legal consequences
In the health care environment, a cautious individual attitude to these risks is essential, but does not guarantee that a patient or family will not take legal action against a physician or caregiver.

However, it is essential for the institution to have a global vision of the risks associated with care, a safety plan and a follow-up of preventive and corrective actions related to the patient care process.

In medicine, the legal consequences can be referred to Article 28 of the Swiss Civil Code, which states that

Anyone who suffers an unlawful attack on his personality may take legal action for his protection against any person involved.
An attack is unlawful unless it is justified by the consent of the victim, by an overriding private or public interest, or by law.

Types of legal consequences
The legal consequences can be of three types:

  • Civil liability, which is intended to provide financial compensation for harm caused to others without just cause.
  • Criminal liability, which aims to impose a personal sanction for the violation of a criminal provision. The penalty is deprivation of liberty and/or a fine.
  • Administrative liability, implemented by the employer, aimed at sanctioning the employee in his/her function within the institution. This responsibility obliges the institution to set up a body to examine the event by persons competent to judge the facts, their chronology and the responsibilities of the different actors involved, and requires the establishment of a system guaranteeing fair treatment.
Legal framework in Switzerland
At present, there is no national legal basis directly governing the safety and quality of care in Switzerland. The legislation divides competence between the national and cantonal authorities. For example, the Federal Council is responsible for ensuring the quality of care financed by compulsory health insurance, but in practice this responsibility is largely delegated to tariff partners, provider associations and insurers (De Pietro et al., 2015).

It is essential to know the starting point before programming your security strategy.

Sensitize all your staff to the prevention of clinical risks

The vulnerable patient

A study of care in a Swiss hospital found that 12.3% of patients suffered harm, half of which could have been prevented with an appropriate level of service (Halfon et al., 2017). More than 60% of these events had no serious consequences, but almost a quarter of them caused a severe and long-lasting disorder.

The second victim

Health professionals involved in a serious incident also suffer the consequences, experiencing sadness and worry, and even psychological suffering and anxiety that often go unnoticed and untreated. The term “second victim” (the “first victim” being the patient and family) is used when a caregiver is emotionally traumatized for having played a role in a harmful patient safety incident, obviously without intentional misconduct being involved.

The barriers for second victims seeking help are :

  • Inadequate organizational safety culture
  • Stigma associated with seeking help
  • Fear of losing respect as a professional
  • Fear of loss of income
  • Difficulty taking time off work
  • Doubts about the confidentiality of the services offered
  • For contract or casual employees, lack of organizational support

the quality of care

With regard to the quality of care in a healthcare institution, three aspects are often reported: the quality of structures (technical equipment, architectural aspects), the quality of processes (measures implemented as part of treatment) and the quality of results (performance evaluation, patient satisfaction). Patient safety is at the centre of all these concerns.

To assess quality, it is necessary to use indicators, measurable quantities that provide information on one or more parameters of the quality of care. An example of a process indicator would be the time it takes to manage a patient with a heart attack, which is determined by “good practice”. Outcome indicators may include the rate of pressure ulcers, the rate of falls, the rate of nosocomial infection, the rate of unplanned reoperations, patient satisfaction,etc.

read less

Our expertises

Quality & Safety of care advice

We provide you with all our expertise in clinical risk management as well as complete audit and monitoring tools for your establishment.

Training

We offer complete and specific training courses for all trades. Our goal? To improve the safety and quality of the services and care provided within your institution.

Let’s draw up together the prevention plan for your establishment and your teams

Membership and Partners

Find us

Adress

Case postale 104, Cologny 1223, Suisse

Phone number

Genève : +41 783 13 30 01

Mail

info@proqualitashealth.com

Visit us at our next events

Un séjour à l’hôpital est-il sans danger?

Notre mission : Garantir la sécurité des soins dans votre établissement

“……Parce la vie est le prix le plus élevé que les patients doivent payer lors d’un événement indésirable grave, et ceci ne devrait plus jamais arriver.”

Martha Schiller

Pourquoi la gestion des risques cliniques est-elle importante pour la sécurité des patients ?

Les patients hospitalisés ou les résidents en EMS, sont exposés à un risque d’événement indésirable avec une probabilité de 1 sur 10.

Anticiper les risques associés aux soins

La gestion des risques cliniques comprend l’ensemble des concepts, des méthodes et des techniques visant à minimiser les risques associés aux soins. La gestion des risques cliniques est une dimension de la qualité des soins.

La non-sécurité des soins, coûte t-elle de l’argent?

Le coût lié aux erreurs de prescription a été estimé à US $42 milliards par an. Cela représente près de 1% du total des dépenses de santé au niveau mondial.

Qu’est-ce qu’un Evènement Indésirable Associé aux Soins (EIAS)?

C’est une circonstance ou un évènement inattendu associé aux soins qui aurait pu ou a entraîné une atteinte pour le patient et dont on souhaite qu’il ne se reproduise pas de nouveau.

Quelle est la probabilité de subir un EIAS?

On estime à 1 pour 3 millions le risque qu’une personne meure au cours d’un voyage aérien.
En comparaison, le risque de mortalité pour un patient lors d’un évènement indésirable pendant les soins est estimé à 1 pour 300.

Les secteurs d’activité réputés pour avoir un risque bien plus élevé que la santé, comme l’aviation et l’énergie nucléaire, ont un bien meilleur bilan que les soins de santé en ce qui concerne la sécurité.

De quel type d’erreurs parlons-nous?

Erreurs liées aux médicaments

Les causes des erreurs de prescription sont liées aux défaillances du système et à des facteurs humains, tels que la fatigue du personnel, le manque d’effectifs, le suivi des traitements, etc.
Chacun de ces facteurs contributifs, seul ou en association, peut provoquer chez le patient concerné de graves préjudices, des incapacités, voire le décès.

Les infections nosocomiales
Les infections associées aux soins (IAS), ou infections nosocomiales, sont identifiées dans les études générales concernant les préjudices, mais des enquêtes ciblées permettent d’établir des données chiffrées plus précises. En 2017, Swissnoso a mené une étude de prévalence ponctuelle sur une journée dans 96 hôpitaux. La prévalence totale de patients souffrant d’au moins une IAS dans les hôpitaux suisses était de 5,9 % (contre 6 % lors de la dernière enquête européenne).

Il existe quatre sites d’infection principaux décrits dans la littérature. Dans l’ordre de fréquence : pneumonies, infections urinaires, infections de site chirurgical et bactériémies.

Les infections représentent environ 40% des événements chirurgicaux indésirables. Le taux de sites opératoires infectés oscillant d’après les études entre 2 et 20% suivant les facteurs de risques.

Les infections sont à l’origine des surcoûts, notamment en raison de la prolongation consécutive du séjour hospitalier.

Erreurs liées à la chirurgie

Chaque année, quelque 234 millions d’opérations sont réalisées dans le monde. Le taux de décès est de 0,4 à 0,8 % et le taux de complications situé entre 3 et 16 % ce qui équivaut à environ un million de morts et sept millions de personnes victimes de lourdes séquelles.

Les infections, les complications liées à l’anesthésie ou les erreurs de site opératoire ou de côté opéré n’épargnent aucun système sanitaire au monde.

Erreurs de diagnostic
5% des adultes sont confrontés à des erreurs de diagnostic
Dans les services de soins ambulatoires des Etats Unis, 5% des adultes sont confrontés à des erreurs de diagnostic. En Malaisie, une étude a établi à 3,6% la fréquence des erreurs de diagnostic.
Risque de chutes
Le risque de chute constitue en particulier un diagnostic infirmier défini qui requiert la mise en œuvre des actions préventives : éviter les chutes et en réduire les conséquences par des interventions ciblées, protéger les patients qui sont déjà tombés d’une récidive et de ses conséquences, promouvoir la documentation systématique sur chaque cas de chute, etc.
Les facteurs latents liés à l’erreur, le “Swiss cheese model”
Au point critique du processus de soins, là où se produit le geste visible de l’erreur, il y a l’individu, qui peut présenter de nombreux facteurs susceptibles de contribuer à la survenue de l’erreur.

En amont de l’individu, il y a le poste de travail où plusieurs éléments, principalement organisationnels, sont des conditions favorisant l’erreur. Et encore plus en amont, des facteurs latents situés notamment au niveau stratégique et budgétaire déterminent les circonstances favorisant l’erreur, ainsi que les failles dans les «barrières de sécurité» en aval du geste de soin, censées protéger le patient d’un évènement indésirable.

Pour illustrer les conséquences de ces défauts lorsqu’ils «s’alignent» en lieu et temps, J. Reason propose le «Swiss cheese model», où les facteurs latents, les conditions favorisant l’erreur et les failles dans les barrières de sécurité sont autant de trous dans des fromages qui, lorsqu’ils sont alignés, permettent au processus néfaste de l’erreur de se dérouler sans jamais être bloqué, pour aboutir finalement à un évènement indésirable chez le patient.

Référence bibliographique :
1. James Reason: patient safety, human error, and Swiss cheese. Interview by Karolina Peltomaa and Duncan Neuhauser. – PubMed – NCBI [Internet]. [cité 24 févr 2020]. Disponible sur: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=(reason%20J%5BAuthor%5D)%20AND%20swiss%20cheese

"Swiss cheese model"
Swiss Cheese model
 
Référence bibliographique :
1. James Reason: patient safety, human error, and Swiss cheese. Interview by Karolina Peltomaa and Duncan Neuhauser. – PubMed – NCBI [Internet]. [cité 24 févr 2020]. Disponible sur: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=(reason%20J%5BAuthor%5D)%20AND%20swiss%20cheese
Prévention des conséquences légales

Dans le milieu soignant, une attitude individuelle prudente face à ces risques est essentielle, mais ne garantit pas qu’un patient ou sa famille n’ouvre pas une procédure judiciaire à l’encontre d’un médecin ou d’un soignant.

Il est pourtant essentiel que l’institution ait une vision globale des risques associés aux soins, un plan sécurité et un suivi des actions préventives et correctives en lien avec le processus de prise en charge des patients.

En médecine, les conséquences légales peuvent être rapportées à l’art. 28 du Code civil suisse qui précise:

  1. Celui qui subit une atteinte illicite à sa personnalité peut agir en justice pour sa protection contre toute personne qui y participe.
  2. Une atteinte est illicite, à moins qu’elle ne soit justifiée par le consentement de la victime, par un intérêt prépondérant privé ou public, ou par la loi.
Types de conséquences légales

Les conséquences sur le plan juridique peuvent être de trois types:

  • Responsabilité civile, qui vise à réparer financièrement le préjudice causé à autrui sans motif légitime.
  • Responsabilité pénale, qui vise à infliger une sanction personnelle pour violation d’une disposition pénale. La sanction est une privation de liberté et/ou une amende.
  • Responsabilité administrative, mise en œuvre par l’employeur, visant à sanctionner le collaborateur dans sa fonction au sein de l’institution. Cette responsabilité oblige l’institution à mettre sur pied une instance d’examen de l’événement par des personnes compétentes pour juger les faits, leur chronologie et les responsabilités des différents acteurs impliqués, et nécessite la mise en place d’un système garantissant une équité de traitement.
Cadre juridique en Suisse
À l’heure actuelle, il n’existe pas de base juridique nationale régissant directement la sécurité et la qualité des soins en Suisse. La législation répartit la compétence entre les autorités nationales et cantonales. Par exemple, le Conseil fédéral est chargé de veiller à la qualité des soins financés par l’assurance-maladie obligatoire, mais dans la pratique, cette responsabilité est largement déléguée aux partenaires tarifaires, aux associations de prestataires et aux assureurs (De Pietro et al., 2015).

Il est indispensable de connaître le point de départ avant de programmer votre stratégie sécurité

Sensibilisez l’ensemble de votre personnel à la prévention des risques cliniques

Le patient vulnérable

Une étude des soins prodigués dans un hôpital suisse a révélé que 12,3 % des patients ont subi des préjudices, dont la moitié auraient pu être évités avec un niveau de prestation approprié (Halfon et al., 2017). Plus de 60 % de ces événements n’ont pas eu de conséquences graves, mais près d’un quart d’entre eux ont causé un trouble sévère durable.

La deuxième victime

Les professionnels de la santé impliqués dans un incident grave en subissent également des conséquences, éprouvant de la tristesse et de l’inquiétude, voire de la souffrance psychologique et de l’angoisse qui souvent passent inaperçues et ne sont pas traitées. L’expression « deuxième victime » (la « première victime » étant le patient et sa famille) trouve son sens lorsqu’un soignant est émotionnellement traumatisé pour avoir joué un rôle dans un incident préjudiciable lié à la sécurité des patients, évidemment sans qu’une inconduite intentionnelle soit en cause.

Les obstacles sur lesquels butent les deuxièmes victimes qui cherchent de l’aide sont :

  • Une culture de sécurité organisationnelle inadéquate
  • Le stigmate associé au fait de chercher de l’aide
  • La peur de perdre le respect en tant que professionnel
  • La crainte d’une perte de revenu
  • La difficulté de s’absenter du travail
  • Des doutes sur la confidentialité des services offerts
  • Pour les employés contractuels ou occasionnels, le manque de soutien organisationnel

La qualité des soins

En ce qui concerne la qualité des soins dans un établissement de soins, trois aspects sont souvent rapportés: la qualité des structures (équipement technique, aspects architecturaux), la qualité des processus (mesures mises en œuvre dans le cadre d’un traitement) et la qualité des résultats (évaluation des prestations, satisfaction des patients). Au centre de toutes ces préoccupations se trouve celle de la sécurité des patients.

Pour évaluer la qualité, il est nécessaire d’utiliser des indicateurs, des grandeurs mesurables informant sur un ou plusieurs paramètres de la qualité des soins. Un exemple d’indicateur de processus serait le temps qu’il faut pour prendre en charge un patient atteint d’infarctus, qui est déterminé par les "bonnes pratiques". Parmi les indicateurs de résultats, nous pouvons trouver le taux d’escarres, le taux de chute, le taux d’infection nosocomiale, le taux de réopérations non-planifiées, la satisfaction des patients,etc.

Nos expertises

Conseil Qualité & Sécurité des soins

Nous mettons à votre disposition toute notre expertise en matière de gestion des risques cliniques ainsi que des outils d’audit et de suivi complet pour votre établissement.

Formation

Nous proposons des formations complètes et spécifiques à tous les corps de métier. Notre but ? Améliorer la sécurité et la qualité des services et des soins prodigués au sein de votre institution.

Établissons ensemble le plan de prévention de votre établissement et de vos équipes

Membership and Partners

Optimiso suite

Nous retrouver

Adresse

Case postale 104, Cologny 1223, Suisse

Téléphone

Genève : +41 783 13 30 01

Mail

info@proqualitashealth.com

Visitez-nous lors de nos prochains événements